NASCUS Committees


NASCUS Committees advise Joint Leadership on policies impacting the state credit union system.

NASCUS Audit Committee

Committee Mission:
The Audit Committee mission is to perform oversight review of all NASCUS financial activity.

Committee Members
Jorge Perez (CT)  — Chairman (2021)
Denice Schulteiss (MI) (2023)
Patti Perkins (ID) (2022)
Matt Kershaw (Clark County Credit Union, NV) (2023)
Seth Schaefer (Rivermark Community Credit Union, OR) (2021)

Rose Conner (NC) — NASCUS Chair
Mike Williams (Colorado Credit Union, CO) — CU Advisory Council Chair

NASCUS Staff Liaison:
Doug McGuckin – Vice President, Corporate Affairs

NASCUS Education Committee

Committee Mission:
The Education Committee is a standing committee responsible for designing, promoting and providing educational programs and training for employees of NASCUS members. The Committee also oversees the preparation and coordination for the NASCUS State System Summit. The Committee monitors results and submits educational and training recommendations to the Board for consideration.

Committee Members
Jeff Dahlstrom (Southeast Financial CU, TN) — Chair
Leanne O’Brien (MI)
Carl Gustafson (VA)
Lykisha Curtis (CA)
Tony Knox (NC)

Rose Conner (NC) — NASCUS Chair
Mike Williams (Colorado Credit Union, CO) — CU Advisory Council Chair
Lucy Ito – NASCUS President/CEO

NASCUS Staff Liaison:
Isaida Woo – Vice President, Education

NASCUS Legislative and Regulatory Affairs Committee

Committee Mission:
The Legislative and Regulatory Affairs Committee is a standing committee that works to advance legislative and regulatory solutions that preserve a viable and attractive state credit union system. The committee, comprised of regulators, credit unions, and leagues, develops NASCUS’ comment letters, recommends NASCUS policy positions, and guides NASCUS legislative activity.

Committee Members

Regulator Members
Amy Hunter (WA)
Andy Forth (ID)
Brian Nicholas (ID)
Carl Gustafson (VA)
Corey Krebs (ND)
Dawn McCaskill (GA)
Denice Schultheiss (MI) (Chair)
Francisco Menchaca (IL)
Gail Bright (KS)
Greg McClellan (AL)
Hailey Nolan (KY)
James Tunca (ID)
Janet Powell (OR)
Jim Barret (MA)
John Kolhoff (TX)
Katie Averill (IA)
Ken Bonnot (MO)
Lloyd Moore (AL)
Marcia Lewis (MN)
Mark Valente (CO)
Mary Ellen O’Neill (CT)
Mathew Robinson (GA)
Matthew Adkison (TN)
Matthew Saunig (CT)
Pamela Keane (GA)
Rick Christianson (MT)
Rick Sherrick (ID)
Riley Bergstedt (UT)
Rob Rutkowski (OH)
Robin Hall (VA)
Sarah Stevenson (MI)
Stacey Cameron (PA)
Tammie Nuber (WA)
Todd Willoughby (MO)

Credit Union Members
Alison Phelan (BECU, WA)
Amy Nelson (Point West CU, OR)
Amy Woody (Mountain CU, NC)
Bill Buchanan (Delta Community, GA)
Bill Lynch (BECU, WA)
Brian Holst (Elevations, CO)
Bruce Adams (CU League of CT)
Chris Myklebust (Canvas, CO)
Christina Mihalik (Crossstate CUA. PA/NJ)
Cindy Connelly (GA League)
David Pace (LSCU)
Emily Troncoso (Navy Fed, VA)
Helen Pearce (Cedar Falls CU, IA)
Jeanne Couchois (Carolinas CU League)
Jeremiah Kossen (Town & Country, ND)
Jim Phelps (Cornerstone League)
Joe Bergeron (Association of VT CUs)
John Holt (Nutmeg CU, CT)
John Trull (NWCUA)
Kelly Botti (TruMark Financial CU, PA)
Kerriann Mills (Baxter CU, IL)
Louise Arsenault (Teachers CU, IN)
Lynn Ciani (Numerica CU, WA)
Michael Calcote (Elevations, CO)
Mike Ryan (BECU, WA)
Nick Drader (BECU, WA)
Nicola Foggie (Crossstate CUA PA/NJ)
Sara Trexler (SECU, NC)
Shawn Gerling (First Community, OR)
Teresa Campbell (San Diego County, CA)
Veronica Ervin (OnPoint Community, OR)


Rose Conner (NC) — NASCUS Chair

Mike Williams (Colorado Credit Union, CO) — CU Advisory Council Chair

Lucy Ito – NASCUS President/CEO

Staff Liaisons:

Brian Knight, NASCUS Executive Vice President & General Counsel

Nichole Seabron, NASCUS Vice President and Legislative, and Regulatory Counsel

NASCUS Performance Standards Committee

Committee Mission:
The Performance Standards Committee is a standing committee responsible for administering the accreditation program. It is the duty of the Committee to determine which applicant credit union supervisory agencies meet and maintain the standards for accreditation.

Committee Members
Corey Krebs (ND)- Chair
Mary Ellen O’Neill (CT)
John Kolhoff (TX)
Wendy Spicher (PA)
Kim Santos (WI)
Francisco Menchaca (IL)

Rose Conner (NC) — NASCUS Chair
Lucy Ito – NASCUS President/CEO

Staff Liaison: Liz Evans, Vice President of State Programs & Supervisory Policy


NASCUS/NCUA Committees, Task Forces, and Working Groups

NASCUS/NCUA National Examination Committee
The committee gathers comments from examiners regarding the examiners’ guide, exam process, and procedures, emerging issues affecting exams, etc.

Committee Members:
Edward Schutte. OR
Dawn McCaskill, GA
Margaret Tetu, NH

Staff Liaison: (pending)

NASCUS/NCUA Technology Development Team (formerly the AIRES Development Team)
This group works to improve and update AIRES.

Committee Members:
Dana Owen, TN
Ashley Lieske, WI
William Justice, TN

Staff Liaison: (pending)

Surveillance System Working Group (SSWG)

Committee Members:
Gloria Thomson, IN
Lori Binford, GA
Amy Richardson, VT