Our Award

NASCUS Pierre Jay Award

Created by NASCUS to recognize individuals, programs or organizations whose contributions have benefited the state credit union system in a significant way, the Pierre Jay Award honors those who have demonstrated outstanding service, leadership and commitment to NASCUS and the state system. This is NASCUS’ highest honor in recognition of champions of the state credit union system.

About the award

First presented in 1997, the Pierre Jay Award honors the first Commissioner of Banks in Massachusetts, Pierre Jay. He learned of the cooperative credit union movement in Milan, Italy and quickly embraced the concept. Working with philanthropist and credit union pioneer Edward Filene of Boston, and despite objections from the banking industry, Jay went on to champion credit union development in the United States. Through Jay’s perseverance and service, he profoundly shaped credit union history.

Every year, NASCUS members have the opportunity to nominate an individual or organization/committee that shows outstanding commitment and dedication to the state credit union system. Nominations are reviewed by NASCUS’ Pierre Jay Award Committee, and a winner is selected based on criteria. Winners are announced prior to NASCUS’ Annual State System Summit, where they are honored.

For more information, please contact Alicia Valencia Erb, Vice President, Member Relations

2020 Pierre Jay Award Selection Committee

The selection committee was overhauled in 2019 to reflect a balance of state regulators and the credit union industry.

John Kolhoff, Chairman, Regulator Board

Rick Stipa, Chairman, CU Advisory Board

Robert Cashman, President & CEO, Metro Credit Union

William Mellin, President & CEO, New York Credit Union Association

Mary Hughes, 2019 PJA Winner, Ret. Acting Director, Idaho Department of Finance

Lucy Ito, President & CEO, NASCUS (ex officio)

Call for 2020 Pierre Jay Award Nominations Open Until October 26, 2020

NASCUS is accepting nominations for this year’s Pierre Jay Award winner. This year’s award will be presented at a virtual event on November 16, 2020.

Eligibility, criteria, and nomination process:

 Any person, program, or organization who or that has made a significant contribution to the state credit union system is eligible to be nominated.

  • Does not necessarily have to be affiliated with NASCUS;
  • Includes any individual, group or program (as well as federal/state lawmakers, federal/state regulators, credit union industry committee, etc., or others);
  • Includes volunteers, staff members, chief staff executives, etc.

Winner’s Criteria

  • Proven contributions that have benefited the state credit union system significantly in the past 1-5 years (or more);
  • Proven demonstration of service, leadership and commitment to the state system and/or NASCUS; and
  • Proven service, commitment, and leadership to the state system.

Nominating Process

  • Nominations may be made only by NASCUS members.
  • Each nomination will be considered by the award’s selection committee.
  • A selection will be made by the committee.

Use this form to submit a nominee.

Nominations must be received by October 26, 2020 at 5 PM Eastern Standard Time.