National Cyber Awareness System

National Cyber Awareness System

Five products in the National Cyber Awareness System offer a variety of information for users with varied technical expertise. Those with more technical interest can read the Alerts, Analysis Reports, Current Activity, or Bulletins. Users looking for more general-interest pieces can read the Tips.

A subscription to any or all of the National Cyber Awareness System products ensures that you have access to timely information about security topics and threats. To learn more or to subscribe, visit the subscription system. You can also visit our Mailing Lists and Feeds page to learn more about how to subscribe or use our syndicated feeds. If you’re having trouble subscribing, read the FAQ.

Click on the titles for direct links to the topics below.

Directives and Guidance
The Cybersecurity and Infrastructure Security Agency (CISA) at the Department of Homeland Security (DHS) develops and oversees the implementation of “binding operational directives” and “emergency directives,” which require action on the part of certain federal agencies in the civilian Executive Branch.

Information Sharing
Information sharing is essential to the protection of critical infrastructure and to furthering cybersecurity for the nation. As the lead federal department for the protection of critical infrastructure and the furthering of cybersecurity, the Cybersecurity and Infrastructure Agency (CISA) has developed and implemented numerous information-sharing programs. Through these programs, CISA develops partnerships and shares substantive information with the private sector, which owns and operates the majority of the nation’s critical infrastructure. CISA also shares information with state, local, tribal, and territorial governments and with international partners, as cybersecurity threat actors are not constrained by geographic boundaries.

Tips & Alerts
Tips describe and offer advice about common security issues for non-technical computer users. Sign up to receive these security tips in your inbox or subscribe to our RSS feed.

Emergency Communications
The Cybersecurity and Infrastructure Security Agency (CISA) enhances public safety interoperable communications at all levels of government and conducts extensive, nationwide outreach to support and promote the ability of emergency response providers and relevant government officials to communicate in the event of natural disasters, acts of terrorism, and other hazards.

Infrastructure Security
Critical infrastructure describes the physical and cyber systems and assets that are so vital to the United States that their incapacity or destruction would have a debilitating impact on our physical or economic security or public health or safety. The Nation’s critical infrastructure provides the essential services that underpin American society.

National Risk Management
Critical infrastructure are those assets, systems, and networks that provide functions necessary for our way of life. From generating electricity to supplying clean water, there are 16 critical infrastructure sectors that are part of a complex, interconnected ecosystem including communications, energy, transportation, emergency services, and water. Any threat to these sectors could have potentially debilitating national security, economic, and public health or safety consequences.