NASCUS ’21 S3: Leadership seated for 2021-22 terms

(Aug. 20, 2021) Continuing and new leadership for the state system was also seated during the NASCUS Annual Meeting, held in conjunction with S3.

Serving as officers for 2021-22 for the NASCUS Regulator Board are:

  • Chairman: Rose Conner (administrator, North Carolina Credit Union Division)
  • Vice Chairman: Janet Powell (chief of regulation and supervision – credit unions, Oregon Dept. of Consumer and Business Services)
  • Secretary/Treasurer: John Kohloff (commissioner, Texas Credit Union Department)

Joining the three as directors on the regulator board are:

  • Katie Averill (superintendent, Iowa Department of Commerce, Division of Credit Unions)
  • Yolanda Ford (deputy superintendent of banking for community and regional banks, New York State Department of Financial Services)
  • Steve Pleger (senior deputy commissioner, Georgia Department of Banking and Finance)
  • Charles Vice (commissioner, Kentucky Department of Financial Institutions)
  • Mary Ellen O’Neill (director, financial institution division, Connecticut Department of Banking)

Members of the regulator board serve three-year terms (Kolhoff and Ford were elected to new terms this year). However, one member is appointed to serve a one-year term by the chairman; O’Neill holds that seat for 2021-22.

Meanwhile, the NASCUS Credit Union Advisory Council also selected its leadership for the upcoming year:

  • Mike Williams, president and CEO, Colorado CU (Colo.), chairman;
  • Mike Ryan, senior vice president and general counsel, BECU, (Wash.), vice chairman;
  • Jeff Dahlstrom, president, Southeast Financial CU (Tenn.), secretary.

Joining the three as directors are:

  • Rick Stipa, immediate past chair and CEO, Trumark Financial CU (Pa.)
  • Amy Nelson, CEO, Point West CU (Oregon)
  • Cathie Tierney, president/CEO, Community First CU (Wis.)
  • Brian Wolfburg, president/CEO, Vystar CU (Fla.)
  • Amy Sink, CEO, Interra CU (Ind.)

Like the regulator board members, directors of the CUAC serve three-year terms (Williams, Nelson and Tierney won new terms in elections this year). However, like the regulator board, one member is appointed by the chairman to serve a one-year term; Sink was appointed for the 2021-22 term to that seat.


NASCUS leadership, 2021-22