NASCUS Committees

NASCUS Committees

NASCUS Committees advise Joint Leadership on policies impacting the state credit union system.

NASCUS Audit Committee

Committee Mission:
The Audit Committee mission is to perform oversight review of all NASCUS financial activity.

Committee Members
Kim Santos (WI) — Chairman (2022)
Jorge Perez (CT) (2021)
Denice Schulteiss (MI) (2020)
Matt Kershaw (Clark County Credit Union, NV) (2020)
Seth Schaefer (Rivermark Community Credit Union, OR) (2021)

John Kolhoff (MI) — NASCUS Chair
Richard Stipa (Trumark Financial CU, PA) — CU Council Chair

NASCUS Staff Liaison:
Doug McGuckin – Vice President, Corporate Affairs

NASCUS Education Committee

Committee Mission:
The Education Committee is a standing committee responsible for designing, promoting and providing educational programs and training for employees of NASCUS members. The Committee also oversees the preparation and coordination for the NASCUS State System Summit. The Committee monitors results and submits educational and training recommendations to the Board for consideration.

Committee Members
Jeff Dahlstrom (Southeast Financial CU, TN) — Chair
Leanne O’Brien (MI)
Rose Conner (NC)
Carl Gustafson (VA)
Patty Idol (Mountain CU, NC)
Doug Lacey-Roberts (WA)
Lykisha Curtis (CA)
Tony Knox (NC)

John Kolhoff (MI) — NASCUS Chair
Richard Stipa (Trumark Financial CU, PA) — CU Council Chair
Lucy Ito – NASCUS President/CEO

NASCUS Staff Liaison:
Isaida Woo – Vice President, Education


NASCUS Legislative and Regulatory Affairs Committee

Committee Mission:
The Legislative and Regulatory Affairs Committee is a standing committee that works to advance legislative and regulatory solutions that preserve a viable and attractive state credit union system. The committee, comprised of regulators, credit unions, and leagues, develops NASCUS’ comment letters, recommends NASCUS policy positions, and guides NASCUS legislative activity.

Committee Members

Regulator Members
Janet Powell (OR)
Riley Bergstedt (UT)
Ken Bonnot (MO)
Carl Gustafson (VA)
Mary Ellen O’Neill (CT)
Robin Hall (VA)
Katie Averill (IA)
Doug Lacey Roberts (WA)
Tammie Nuber (WA)
Rose Conner (NC)
Hailey Nolan (KY)
Mathew Robinson (GA)
Matthew Saunig (CT)
Amy Hunter (WA)
Lloyd Moore (AL)
Denice Schultheiss (MI)
Brian Nicholas (ID)
Stacey Cameron (PA)
Todd Willoughby (MO)
Greg McClellan (AL)
Francisco Menchaca (IL)
Corey Krebs (ND)
Marcia Lewis (MN)
James Tunca (ID)
Rick Sherrick (ID)
Rob Rutkowski (OH)
Mark Valente (CO)
Brian Williams (TN)
Jim Barret (MA)

Credit Union Members
John Holt (Nutmeg CU, CT) – Chairman
Michael Calcote (Elevations, CO)
Kelly Botti (TruMark Financial CU, PA)
Mike Ryan (BECU, WA)
Jeanne Couchois (Carolinas CU League)
Jim Phelps (Cornerstone League)
Gretchen Ziegler (Cornerstone League)
John Trull (NWCUA)
Christina Mihalik (Crossstate CUA. PA/NJ)
Judy Britt (CT League)
Alison Phelan (BECU, WA)
Brian Holst (Elevations, CO)
Joe Bergeron (Association of VT CUs)
Mike Williams (Colorado CU, CO)
Lynn Ciani (Numerica CU, WA)
Patty Idol (Mountain CU, NC)
Bill Lynch (BECU, WA)
Bill Buchanan (Delta Community, GA)
Shawn Gerling (First Community, OR)
Jason Boesch (Energize CU, OK)
Jeremiah Kossen (Town & Country, ND)
Meredith Ritchie (Alliant CU, IL)
Diane D. Hank (Alliant CU, IL)
Sara Trexler (SECU, NC)
Bruce Adams (CT League)
Evelyn Hawthorne (Carolinas League)
Mike Lee (LSCU)
Thomas Flowers (Calhoun Liberty Employees, FL)
Louise Arsenault (Teachers CU, IN)
Amy Nelson (Point West CU, OR)
Chris Myklebust (Canvas, CO)
Veronica Ervin (OnPoint Community, OR)
Nick Drader (BECU, WA)
Nicola Foggie (Crossstate CUA PA/NJ)
Kerriann Mills (Baxter CU, IL)
Gili Carter (Cornerstone League)

John Kolhoff (MI) — NASCUS Chair
Richard Stipa (Trumark Financial CU, PA) — CU Council Chair
Lucy Ito – NASCUS President/CEO

Staff Liaisons: Brian Knight, NASCUS Executive Vice President & General Counsel, and Nichole Seabron, NASCUS Vice President and Legislative and Regulatory Counsel

NASCUS Performance Standards Committee

Committee Mission:
The Performance Standards Committee is a standing committee responsible for administering the accreditation program. It is the duty of the Committee to determine which applicant credit union supervisory agencies meet and maintain the standards for accreditation.

Committee Members
John Ducrest (LA) – Chair
Mary Ellen O’Neill (CT)
John Kolhoff (TX)
Corey Krebs (ND)


NASCUS/NCUA Committees, Task Forces and Working Groups

NASCUS/NCUA National Examination Committee
The committee gathers comments from examiners regarding the examiners’ guide, exam process and procedures, emerging issues affecting exams, etc.

Committee Members:
Edward Schutte. OR
Dawn McCaskill, GA
Margaret Tetu, NH

Staff Liaison: (pending)

NASCUS/NCUA Technology Development Team (formerly the AIRES Development Team)
This group works to improve and update AIRES.

Committee Members:
Dana Owen, TN
Ashley Lieske, WI
William Justice, TN

Staff Liaison: (pending)

Surveillance System Working Group (SSWG)

Committee Members:
Gloria Thomson, IN
Lori Binford, GA
Amy Richardson, VT