NASCUS Committees

Credit Union Advisory Council members serve in an advisory capacity on some of NASCUS' standing committees. The Performance Standards Committee and Task Forces are regulators only. To view the Credit Union Advisory Council Committee members, click here.

NASCUS Audit Committee

Committee Mission:
The Audit Committee mission is to perform oversight review of all NASCUS financial activity.

Committee Members
Kim Santos (WI) --Chairman (2019) 
Andrea Cipolla (MA) (2020)
Caitlin Sanford (CA) (2121)
Scott Burgess (Rivermark Community CU, OR) (2018) 
Cheryl DeBoer (Advia CU, MI) (2020)

Mary Ellen O’Neill (CT) -- NASCUS Chair
Patty Idol (Mountain CU, NC) -- CU Council Chair

NASCUS Staff Liaison:
Doug McGuckin - Vice President, Corporate Affairs


NASCUS Education Committee

Committee Mission:
The Education Committee is a standing committee responsible for designing, promoting and providing educational programs and training for employees of NASCUS members. The Committee also oversees the preparation and coordination for the NASCUS State System Summit. The Committee monitors results and submits educational and training recommendations to the Board for consideration.

Committee Members
2017-2018 Education Committee Roster Pending

Lucy Ito - NASCUS President and CEO
Mary Ellen O’Neill (CT) -- NASCUS Chair
Patty Idol (Mountain CU, NC) -- CU Council Chair

NASCUS Staff Liaison:
Isaida Woo - Vice President, Education


NASCUS Legislative and Regulatory Affairs Committee

Committee Mission:
The Legislative and Regulatory Affairs Committee is a standing committee that works to advance legislative and regulatory solutions that preserve a viable and attractive state credit union system. The committee, comprised of regulators, credit unions, and leagues, develops NASCUS’ comment letters, recommends NASCUS policy positions, and guides NASCUS legislative activity.

The Legislative and Regulatory Affairs Committee also oversees special projects designed to enhance the state charter. These special projects have included evaluating model state regulation and legislation, developing protocols to enhance interstate branching, tracking state powers and authorities, and disseminating best practices.

The work of the Legislative and Regulatory Affairs Committee is conducted primarily by e-mail and monthly conference calls. During these monthly calls, NASCUS staff briefs committee members on a wide range of issues confronting the state credit union system. The committee meets in person once a year in conjunction with the NASCUS Summit and annual meeting of the membership.

Committee membership is open to all NASCUS members. For more information about the Legislative and Regulatory Affairs Committee, or to lend your voice and expertise to the enhancement of the state system by joining the committee, contact

Committee Members

Regulator Members
Joe Jones (ID) – Chairman
Janet Powell (OR)
Amy LaChance (CT)
Riley Bergstedt (UT)
Ken Bonnot (MO)
Andrea Cipolla (MA)
Harold Feeney (TX)
Marni Gibson (KY)
Carl Gustafson (VA)
Mary Hughes (ID)
Linda Jekel (WA)
John Kolhoff (MI)
Doug Lacy-Roberts (WA)
Tina Miller (TN)
Anthony Rodgers (TN)
Sarah Moore (AL)
Pam Keane (GA)
Justin McElheney (GA)
Robin Hall (VA)
Andrew Forth (ID)
Lyndsay Miller (IN)
Katie Averill (IA)
Keith Schuster (WA)

Credit Union Members
John Holt (Nutmeg CU, CT) -Vice Chair
Michael Calcote (Elevations CU, CO)
Kelly Botti (TruMark Financial CU, PA)
Mike Ryan (BECU, WA)
Daryl Sawyer (Greater Cincinnati CU, OH)
Jeanne Couchois (Carolinas CU League)
Jared Ross (LSCU)
Jim Phelps (Cornerstone League)
Gretchen Ziegler (Cornerstone League)
John Trull (NWCUA)
Jill Nowacki (CT CU League)
Amy Sink (Interra CU, IN)
Steven Ritchie (Orange County’s CU, CA)
Bob Donley (Members CU, NC)
Christina Mihalik (PCUA, PA)
Colleen Knoll (PSCU, CO)
Cindy Connelly (GA League)
Teresa Halleck (San Diego County CU, CA)
Judy Britt (CT League)
Alison Phelan (BECU, WA)
Brian Holst (Elevations CU, CO)
Joseph G. Bergeron (Association of Vermont Credit Unions)
Mike Williams (Colorado CU, CO)

Mary Ellen O’Neill (CT) -- NASCUS Chair
Patty Idol (Mountain CU, NC) -- CU Council Chair
Lucy Ito - NASCUS President/CEO

Staff Liaisons: Brian Knight, NASCUS Executive Vice President & General Counsel, and Nichole Seabron, NASCUS Vice President and Legislative and Regulatory Counsel


NASCUS Performance Standards Committee

Committee Mission:
The Performance Standards Committee is a standing committee responsible for administering the accreditation program. It is the duty of the Committee to determine which applicant credit union supervisory agencies meet and maintain the standards for accreditation.

Committee Members:
John Kolhoff, MI, Chair
Harold Feeney, TX
Gavin Gee, ID
Riley Bergstedt, UT 
Mark Powell, IN

Lucy Ito - NASCUS President and CEO
Mary Ellen O’Neill (CT) -- NASCUS Chair

NASCUS Staff Liaison:

Accreditation Audit Working Group
Committee Members:

Corey Krebs, ND, Chair
Rose Conner, NC
David Anderson, IL
Marni Gibson, KY
Aaron Ferenc, VT

NASCUS Staff Liaison:

Lucy Ito - NASCUS President/CEO
Mary Ellen O’Neill (CT) -- NASCUS Chair


NASCUS/NCUA Committees, Task Forces and Working Groups

NASCUS/NCUA National Examination Committee
The committee gathers comments from examiners regarding the examiners' guide, exam process and procedures, emerging issues affecting exams, etc.

Committee Members:
Michael Baugh, KS
Lori Jones, OH

Staff Liaison: (pending)

This working group solicits input and facilitates recommendations to improve the 5300 Call Report form, the Financial Performance Review, Consolidated Balance Sheet, the Report of Officials and the Scope Workbook.

Lori Binford, GA
Amy Richardson, VT
Gloria Thompson, IN

Staff Liaison: (pending)

NASCUS/NCUA Technology Development Team (formerly the AIRES Development Team)
This group works to improve and update AIRES.

Committee Members:
Donald Anderson, WI
Dana Owen, TN
David Symons, MI

Staff Liaison: (pending)